Zucchini Schroom’ Pie

Image

Zucchini Scroom Pie!

This Sunday was an incredibly tiresome day, considering it was the day after Vegan-Palooza, an event that my bakery Vegan Sweet Tooth hosted.  We ended up having over 100 people at the bakery, to enjoy food, music, cupcake tastings, and demos.  The event was an incredible success, but it wore me, and my entire staff out that is for sure!  It wasn’t until 3pm today that I was beginning to feel like I could keep my eyes open.  But once I was back to life, I immediately started thinking about Sunday dinner.  My favorite dinner.  Tonight I needed something healthy-ish, quick and yummy.

I spent a good portion of my time at Whole Foods day dreaming about what I wanted, and I finally decided on zucchini, and baby bellas.  This decision was partly made on the fact that they were on sale, and the fact that I adore them together.  I then wandered over to the cheese section, which is my favorite area of Whole Foods, where I spend most of my time.  I am the weird girl that talks about cheese as if it is a religion.  So then I decided to make it all a tart, but I don’t bake.  I own a bakery, but I don’t bake….funny thing I know.  I grabbed a frozen whole wheat pie crust and I was off to my kitchen.

The process of this pie was SOOOOO SIMPLE!  I basically chopped 1/2 of an onion, 3 cloves of garlic, 2 zucchinis, and one container of baby bellas.  Sauted them for five minutes, until they were nice and soft, threw them in the pie shell, and topped it with shredded Gruyere cheese.  The Gruyere is a bit on the pricey side, but it added an incredible nuttiness to the dish, and I would strongly urge you to spend the extra few dollars.  I paired the pie with roasted broccoli, and VOILA!

This dish is a nice vegetarian dish, it could be made vegan if you omit the cheese, but you know how I feel about cheese.  You can easily make this dish with any combination of veggies.  I plan on making this one again with different peppers, once they grow in my garden.  That is another story…for another day.  This one is going in the book as simple, healthy, and DELISH.

Food is Art is Life

Leave a Reply

